Peace of mind or 9-5?

Standard

Rottenecards_31004723_jgqfcwmz2m

Growing up, my parents taught me that getting an education was the key to success. You go to school, graduate, get into college, and then find a good paying job to eventually turn into a career. Along the way they would tell me to enjoy my youth and don’t be in a hurry to grow up because well…adult life sucks. This is what I was taught, this is all that I knew (I’m sure many of you can relate). So I took all of the necessary steps to get ahead in life: I went to school, graduated (I’m very proud of myself for that, might I add), and have been working to find a steady job and build my way up to having a stable career. Sounds like I’m fulfilling the dream right? Ha-ha…No. Reality is, I’m now an adult with bills and an educational debt, living the life that my parents prayed that I wouldn’t have to endure. A four year college degree and 2 1/2 post college years later I am unemployed, broke, and discouraged. I’ve only been able to land temp jobs or temp-hire at best. I have applied for job after job, all of them seeming to be the perfect match, with no call backs and no interviews. The jobs that I have obtained were through temp & staffing agencies. Not saying that I’m not thankful for the work that I have been able to get, because I am, but I want more. I know that my family had nothing but the best intentions with their guidance and like many parents, they just wanted their kids to do even better than they did so by no means do I fault them for that. But now that I’m living my life on my own and have gained my own experiences, I’m beginning to wonder, is this really the career path for me?

Stressed-Out-Cities---Generic-jpg

One of my close friends told me a few years back that she sees me as being the hippie/artsy type. She couldn’t envision me doing “typical” work for very long and saw me as being an artist finding my own way. I laughed it off at the time but now I’m beginning to agree with her. Don’t get me wrong, I believe that I am a great candidate for many office positions and have the potential to climb the corporate ladder but the question is, do I want to? Quite frankly, the answer is no. I want to be able to call my own shots, create my own schedule, and build a career that I can be proud of.

*Well then silly goose, what are you going to do instead? How are you going to turn something you love into a lucrative career? You got bills, man!*

Trust me, I’ve been trying to answer these questions for a while now but as I’m searching for the solution, bills are piling up and my bank account is shrinking. You guys, I literally almost cried in the Target check out line last week as this fact hit me hard. Yes, I.almost.cried. Until I find some direction for my passion and begin to make some money from it, I feel like I have no choice but to take whatever job I can get. The dilemma is that I don’t want to continue only doing temp work but I also don’t want to get permanently sucked into the black hole that is the “9-5” (which turns out to be more like 8-5 or 6). I mean, I know I need it, but how much of your soul do you have to give in order to survive? Is there such a thing as a happy medium? I feel stuck between a rock and a hard place. How do I continue to be a responsible adult without compromising my dreams, goals, and youth? *Le sigh*

What is this adult life all about??

Kristyn B.

 

Important: This post is NOT to disrespect anyone out there making an honest living by maintaining a 9-5!! Both of my parents have done that in order to provide for their families and I am proud of them and respect them immensely for that. In this life, you have to do what you have to do! And if you are lucky enough to be doing something you love in the corporate world then that’s great and I’m happy for you! These are just my personal feelings at this time in my life. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Peace of mind or 9-5?

  1. Deanna

    Always remember you can’t buy peace of mind. Do what your heart tell you to do (just get paid to do it ;-). Good luck finding that ultimate dream career.

Leave a Reply

