Tasty Thursday: Veggie Enchiladas

Standard

Happy Thursday everyone!
I know, I know…it’s been a long time, I shouldn’t have left you but I’m baaaaack! With a recipe!

Lately I’ve been exploring vegetarian meals. Now, anyone who knows me knows that I’m a meat and potatoes kind of girl BUT I want to lower the amount of meat I eat because it’s easier on the body and wallet! Trying new recipes has been fun but it has been a challenge to get my picky die hard carnivore boyfriend to jump on board. He’s been hesitant about eating vegetarian meals but I’ve been wearing him down. 😉

The other night I made some vegetarian enchilada stuffed zucchini! The recipe can be found here:
http://www.5dollardinners.com/aleas-vegetarian-enchilada-stuffed-zucchini/

I stayed true to the foundation of the recipe but made a couple of adjustments. Here is the recipe!

I washed and cut the zucchini in half, length wise. I then scooped out the seeds and lined them up in a glass baking dish on top of a layer of enchilada sauce.Prep1

I mixed together about 1 cup of cooked brown rice, 1 can of black beans, 1 diced tomato, 2 cloves of minced garlic, ground red peppper, and flavor god’s garlic lovers seasoning (guys…these low salt seasonings are THEE bomb! They are healthy, fresh and tasty! You can find these seasonings at www.flavorgod.com).

*The original recipe calls for taco seasoning but I used my own seasonings instead. I also excluded the onions and peppers that the recipe called for. I love onions and peppers, but didn’t want the “enchiladas” to have a “fajita” like taste. I left out the corn on accident.

Prep2

Then I stuffed the zucchini with the rice mixture

Prep3

and topped it with more enchilada sauce and cheese! I mean, how can you go wrong with cheese??

Prep4

Popped these babies in the oven at 350 for 30 minutes and got this…

Finished

I admit, my picture of the final product is pretty plain Jane but the dish came out great! The zucchini was tender and the stuffing had a nice punch of heat from the red pepper as well as the enchilada sauce (I used “medium”). This recipe serves 4 and is nice and filling. I added a bit of sour cream on the side which made it even better (you can use plain non fat greek yogurt for a healthier alternative). Both my boyfriend (yes, Mr. Picky) and I give it a thumbs up! I would definitely make this again. 🙂

Give this recipe a try if your heart desires! Let me know what you think!

Later gators! Enjoy your weekend!

Leave a Reply

