Disconnect to reconnect

Standard

all-technology

 

When I wake up in the morning, what is the first thing that I do? Brush my teeth? No. Stretch? Naw. Eat breakfast? Nope. I reach over, grab my phone, and check my Facebook and Instagram. Hey now, don’t look at me like that. I know I’m not the only one!

We live in a society that thrives on technology and social media/networks. We’re constantly plugged into something, whether it be the TV, internet, our phones (which appear to be glued to our hands), Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, video games, and the list goes on! Believe me, I’m guilty as charged. Over the course of the day, I watch enough TV to make my head explode and I’m always connected to the internet through my phone. It’s absolutely ridiculous, yall. I love all of this stuff as much as the next person but it’s draining and quite frankly bumming me out. I want to get back to the days where family time means enjoying each other’s company without staring at our phones, falling deep into our own cyberspaces. Or while on a date your significant other gives you full attention with their phone nowhere in sight. The days where going outdoors and enjoying the sunshine isn’t a foreign concept. As a matter of fact, just take me back to the 90’s! Overalls and all! 🙂 Seriously, I’m itching for a change.

For the next week, I want to challenge myself to disconnect in order to reconnect with myself and those around me. During this next week, I will turn off my TV, phone, and computer for an hour a day. What will I do in that hour you ask? Meditate, read, write, hang out with a family member or friend giving them my undivided attention (which btw has become a lost art and annoys the heck out of me), cook, brush up on Spanish which I haven’t done in years, take a walk, sit and stare at the wall singing Kumbaya, whatever I am feeling in that moment is what I will do. The goal is to embrace the present moment without being distracted by all of my gadgets!

I’m inviting you to join me in this challenge. Yes, YOU! For a week, make a promise to yourself to turn off everything for 15 minutes, 30 minutes, an hour or two a day (whichever you feel most comfortable with) and enjoy some time in the real world away from those guilty pleasures! Report back on how things are going and I will do the same!

Ready? Break!

Until next time,

Kristyn

 

Leave a Reply

